Course 1: Discussion Question 1

• This topic has 11 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated by .
Viewing 2 reply threads
  • Author
      Tamara
      Course Participant
      In your own words, answer the following…

Describe at least 2 design elements of effective online programs that you feel you are missing  (or are not reaching their potential) in your online program approach.  If implemented in your program, how might the elements improve program success and learning outcomes.

Posting Instructions:
      Hit reply to this thread to post your initial response. Do not start a new topic. Only start a new topic when you are starting a new thread of conversation.

Ronnelle Sammons

Tamara,

I do not currently have my own online learning platform opportunities, however as an administrator I think big picture on how our program is running as a whole. The two design elements I think our program is missing would be design element four/weekly schedules and design element one/hybrid.

Having a more hybrid focused program, while virtual and when we move back into the building full time, would benefit both the students and staff in my opinion. Although our students require the flexibility of asynchronous lessons and activities they crave moments of synchronous learning. This can be very difficult for my staff, as student’s are in one room together, but in different courses. Furthermore, if they are in the same course they are most likely in different units due to attendance, comprehension, and motivation levels. This makes it very difficult for the staff to plan. I believe using this hybrid model could help structure learning and teaching during virtual times and while in the building.