Course 1 Community Discussion

• This topic has 66 replies, 1 voice, and was last updated by .
Viewing 17 reply threads
  • Author
      Katie Holloway
      Keymaster

Who are you, and what would you do if you were not teaching or working in adult basic education? (Give us the big ambitions! No one is going to make you change professions.)

Roxie Carroll

I couldn’t begin to count the things that I would choose to do if not in education. I enjoy learning, and I enjoy learning a lot of different things. Past experiences have sparked a multitude of interest and curiousity.  When I was in the army and in a field support position, I became interested in forestry and horticulture. I think sometimes that I would love to have a nursery and play with plants all day.  When I was a Science Olympiad coach, I became interest in astronomy and thought it might be a bit interesting to study the composition of celestial bodies. As I work with my granddaughter in her pursuit as a high-scale floral designer, I developed an interest in Ikebana designs. As I spend time in Biblical study, I often wonder if I should have gone into a theological field. Guess I can’t decide if I’m earthy or celestial.  All that being said, I chose adult education. Not here by accident.

Roxie Carroll

I caught it…Guess I can’t decide if I’m earthy or celestial…
        or spacey (or spacy)

Jackie

I see we have some common interests, with working with out grandchildren and Bible study. I actually do need to do more Bible study now that I have more time.

Brianna Gillis

Roxie, I agree I’m not here by accident either.  I have to say that I am earthy too.  My husband and I planted a small pecan orchard a few years ago.  This year is our first year harvesting pecans so we are staying busy, but enjoying learning the tricks of the trade while spending time with family.

Laura Sanabria